Honorable Lawrence M. Borst, DVM – 2014 Induction

Lawrence M. Borst was born in 1927 and passed away in 2016. Dr. Borst attended Ohio State University, where he earned a Doctor of Veterinary Medicine degree. In 1954, he founded the Shelby Street Animal Clinic, a small veterinary practice that continues to this day. Additionally, Dr. Borst served as a member of the Indiana General Assembly for 38 years. It was from this position that Senator Borst worked to amend the Indiana Constitution to permit pari-mutuel horse racing and passed the Indiana Pari-Mutuel Horse Racing Act, the law which governs the sport to this day.

Mr. Michael G. Schaefer – 2014 Induction (Posthumously)

Michael G. Schaefer was born in 1924 in Indianapolis, Indiana and passed away in 2011. Mike attended Rose Polytechnic Institute, where he earned his bachelor’s degree. Mr. Schaefer was appointed as the first Chairman of the Indiana Horse Racing Commission in 1989 and served in that capacity until 2000.  During his tenure as Chairman, Mr. Schaefer was responsible for carrying out the General Assembly’s mandate to build a first class pari-mutuel horse racing industry and an agency to govern the sport.

Honorable Dick Thompson – 2015 Induction

Richard A. Thompson was born in Greencastle, Indiana in 1934. He attended Purdue University, where he earned Bachelor of Science and Master of Science degrees. From 1979 to 1996 he served as a citizen legislator in the Indiana General Assembly representing parts of Hendricks, Putnam, Boone, Montgomery and Parke Counties. During the historical and contentious 1993 Special Session, Senator Thompson earned the admiration and respect of horsemen throughout Indiana by sponsoring the riverboat gambling bill and ensuring that horse racing received its fair share of gaming tax receipts.

Mr. Ralph Wilfong – 2015 Induction (Posthumously)

Ralph L. Wilfong was born in Hancock County, Indiana in 1916 and passed away in 1997. He successfully lobbied for the passage of pari-mutuel horse wagering and underwrote the cost of racing related improvements at the Indiana State Fairgrounds. Among the many awards he earned were the prestigious Sagamore of the Wabash Award from Governor Robert D. Orr and being named as one of the 100 most influential men in Indiana. Mr. Wilfong’s many contributions to horse racing were also recognized, as a stakes race was named after him at the prestigious Hambletonian Society’s Breeders Crown.

Harold Barnes – 2016 Induction

Harold Barnes, third generation Indiana horseman, was born in 1940 in Maxwell, Indiana. In 1958 at the age of eighteen, Mr. Barnes drove and won his first harness race at the Shelby County Fair. Mr. Barnes has raced all over, from California and Canada to the East Coast. In addition to his horse racing career, Mr. Barnes served on the Indiana Trotting & Pacing Association Board of Directors (now known as the Indiana Standardbred Association) and the Kentucky Harness Horsemen’s Association.

Mari Hulman George – 2016 Induction

Mari Hulman George is Chairman Emeritus of the Board of Directors of the Indianapolis Motor Speedway Corporation and its corporate parent, Hulman & Company of Terre Haute, Indiana. In the early 1960s, Mari’s attention turned to Cora, Wyoming, where from 1963 to 1973 she owned and operated the Circle S Ranch. Circle S Ranch became the name of her extensive racing stable with Thoroughbreds racing in Indiana, Florida and Kentucky and Quarter Horses in New Mexico, Oklahoma and other states. Mari was an inaugural member of the Indiana Breed Development Advisory Committee and served as the Chairman of the Indiana Derby for a number of years.

Senator Robert Jackman, DVM – 2016 Induction

Dr. Robert Jackman graduated from Purdue University with a doctoral degree in veterinary medicine, and was honored in 2002 with the Distinguished Alumni Award from Purdue School of Veterinary Science and Medicine.  He is the owner of Jackman Animal Clinic, P.C. and Jackman Farms in Milroy, IN.  In addition to his work as a veterinarian, Dr. Jackman has also served in the Indiana State Senate for a total of 12 years for District 42. Senator Jackman was the driving force behind the creation of the Centaur Equine Specialty Hospital, which opened in 2017 in Shelbyville.

Don Myers – 2016 Induction (Posthumously)

Don Myers was born in 1920 and passed away in 2013. In 1963 in Seymour, Indiana, Mr. Myers began his business endeavors with seven gasoline stations. This would soon become Swifty Oil Co., and expand to 181 gasoline stations and convenience marts opening in a number of states. In 1972, he founded Swifty Farms and advanced it to become Indiana’s largest Thoroughbred racing and breeding farm. Mr. Myers was very instrumental in developing Thoroughbred racing in the state of Indiana, as well as his heavy involvement throughout North America. He also was a member of the national Thoroughbred Owners and Breeders Association and Indiana’s Thoroughbred Owners and Breeders Association.

Honorable Howard “Luke” A. Kenley – 2017 Induction

The Honorable Howard “Luke” A. Kenley was born in 1945 and raised in Noblesville, Indiana. He spent many summers in West Texas, where he learned to ride, care for and love horses of all breeds – especially Quarter Horses. Luke Kenley graduated Noblesville High School, Miami of Ohio University, Harvard Law School, served as an officer in the U.S. Army, and was a local judge. Recently retired from a 25-year career in the Indiana State Senate, he played a major role in legislation favorable to the Indiana horse industry, which contributes more than one billion dollars annually to the state’s economy and provides Hoosiers with over 10,000 jobs.

Lynn George Wilfong – 2017 Induction

Lynn George Wilfong was born and raised in Willow Branch, Indiana and attended his first race at the age of 10. He eventually became a Standardbred owner, trainer and breeder. During his tenure as the president of the Indiana Trotting and Pacing Horse Association, the Standardbred Board of Regulations was created to supplement county fair racing. While president of the Indiana Sulky Club, Lynn obtained his charting license to chart races at county fairs in Indiana. In 1993, he received the very first Breeders Award given by the Standardbred Owners and Breeders of Indiana, now known as the Indiana Standardbred Association. Lynn played a major role in lobbying for pari-mutuel racing in Indiana, and helped Hoosier Park became a reality in 1994.

 Raymond J. “Steve” Panke – 2017 Induction (Posthumously)

Raymond J. “Steve” Panke was born in 1919 in Josephville, Missouri, and passed away on October 9, 2006. His life’s passion was raising American Saddlebred horses on his Danville, Indiana farm – Woodlands Stud. Steve started Panke Machinery Corp. in 1963, and served in the U.S. Air Force during World War II. Steve was a board member and president of the Indiana State Fairgrounds, and a board member of the Indiana Horse Council Foundation. Steve will always be remembered as the tenacious industry champion of pari-mutuel horseracing in Indiana, helping to make pari-mutuel wagering a reality for Hoosiers.